Contact WQCS / Staff

  

  • Station Manager - Chris Puorro - 772-462-7811 - cpuorro@wqcs.org
  • Membership/Special Events - Diana Gonzalez - 772-462-7813 - dgonzale@wqcs.org
  • Chief Engineer - Randy Murdock - 772-462-7814 - rmurdock@wqcs.org
  • Operations Manager - Joe Lenartiene - 772-462-7815 - jlenarti@wqcs.org
  • News/Public Affairs -  772-462-7852 - news@wqcs.org
  • Programming/Traffic - April Loving 772-462-7872 - aloving@wqcs.org
  • Underwriting Sales - Lisa Baxter - 772-462-7812 - lbaxter@wqcs.org
  • Underwriting Sales - Gerald Wilcox - 772-462-7821 - gwilcox@wqcs.org
  • Fiscal Management - Donna Mulvey - 772-462-7818 - dmulvey@irsc.edu
  • Morning Edition/Treasure Coast Happenings - Mike Fitzgerald - 772-462-7466 - mfitzger@wqcs.org
  • All Things Considered - Rodney Spencer - rspencer@irsc.edu
  • Community Calendar - Ted Burrows - eburrows@wqcs.org

Phone: 772-465-8989 

Toll Free: 888-286-8936

Fax: 772-462-4743

Mailing address:  3209 Virginia Avenue, Ft. Pierce, FL 34981

Click here for map and directions 

For News Stories and Tips: news@wqcs.org

For General Questions: info@wqcs.org

For Comments on WQCS Programming: comments@wqcs.org

To Submit Community Calendar Events and Public Service Announcements: info@wqcs.org and submit on the online events calendar.   

Public radio station WQCS / 88.9 FM is licensed to Indian River State College. At 100,000 watts, the station serves a listening area from northern Palm Beach County to Melbourne. Its format is news / public affairs and classical music programming. It is a member of National Public Radio and Florida Public Broadcasting Service, and affiliated with Public Radio International, American Public Media and the Associated Press.

WQCS provides local news and weather information throughout the day and works closely with non-profit organizations to promote their activities through public service announcements, and the show "Treasure Coast Happenings".

The station also operates the WQCS Radio Reading Service on a closed-circuit sub-carrier. Approximately 500 blind and visually and physically impaired listeners receive the reading service. Each morning, volunteers read local newspapers and other publications. The service requires a special receiver that WQCS provides free of charge.

WQCS went on the air in March, 1982 at 3,000 watts of power. It increased its power to 100,000 watts in April, 1986 and moved to its current facility in May, 1993. WQCS is the state-designated Emergency Alert System serving St. Lucie, Martin, Indian River and Okeechobee counties and northern Palm Beach County.

Approximately 70% of the station's budget comes from private local support.  As a public radio station, WQCS also receives grants from the Corporation for Public Broadcasting and the Florida Department of Education, and support and in-kind services from Indian River College.

WQCS is located on the Fort Pierce Campus of Indian River State College at 3209 Virginia Avenue. Our business hours are 8 am to 5 pm weekdays.

Mission Statement:

WQCS provides public service programming that informs, educates and entertains the community.

Vision Statement:

WQCS will offer our audiences the opportunity to access a variety of quality programs through different technologies.